Why I hope to Die at 75

Reading the title, I had no doubt that I would agree with Emanuel’s opinion. I have often discussed with others the unfortunate position of living to long, understood by watching the elderly crumble and become reliant on other people. It is sad really, to see someone I am sure was once healthy and strong and modern, to  be stuck struggling to do the simplest things, undergo countless surgery and even begin to forget their friends and family. Emanuel wants to avoid this, and I sympathize with that. Retelling his father’s story was very good pathos for the story, and was a perfect example of what his fears are. I find it intriguing that Emanuel never discloses how he plans to only live till 75. Hoping to die than means very little if you let nature take its course, as it’ll either happen or it won’t and that will be that.

Leave a Reply

